Books by Suzanne Wouda

  • Long Lost Sister

    Suzanne Wouda

    | Fiction | This book has 320 pages

    FOR FANS OF THE GIRL WITH THE PEARL EARRING, THE MINIATURIST AND TULIP FEVER

    A moving novel about friendship and loss in 17th-century Amsterdam and Haarlem.

    Amsterdam, 1679. At the age of ten, Flora and Mare meet in the orphanage. Flora helps traumatised Mare through a difficult period. For years, the girls are inseparable, until fate has other ideas, and they lose touch with one another. From then on, their their lives go in completely different directions. Flora marries a rich man and moves to Haarlem, while Mare works as a prostitute in a gambling house near Zeedijk.

    Ten years later, Mare receives a worrying letter from Flora. She travels to Haarlem to look for Flora’s son, who has disappeared without a trace.

    Long Lost Sister is a story about friendship, loss and fighting off the ghosts of the past. With her evocative style, Wouda takes the reader back to the seventeenth century like a time traveller.

    Press on Long Lost Sister:
    Long Lost Sister will stay with you. And anyone who has read the book will never set foot in the Amsterdam Museum again without thinking of Flora and Mare.’ – Nederlands Dagblad

    ‘This was truly a brilliant historical novel! I enjoyed it from beginning to end. These books are extraordinary to read: you learn a great deal about Dutch history, while also enjoying a compelling story.’ – Leesdame Blog

    Contact us